OSC Announces National Coaching Awards

The US Olympic Sailing Committee (OSC) announced the national coaching awards for the year. The three winners were selected from the nominations given by the public.

According to Plainsailing Yacht website, Mike Ingham from Rochester, N.Y., has been announced as the US Sailing’s 2016 National Coach of the Year. Willie McBride, Santa Barbara, California has been named as 2016 Development Coach of the Year and Peter Becker, Rye, N.Y. is named as 2016 Volunteer Coach of the Year.

OSC identifies and honors the sailing coaches who have excelled at the youth level or national and international level every year. This award is given under the Coach Recognition Program of U.S Olympic Committee (USOC). This program highlights the contributions of the U.S coaches and their accomplishments in training the athletes for all levels of the Olympic and Paralympics events.

Bruce Burton, President of US Sailing, said that this recognition of the three coaches is given not only for the outstanding results they have achieved last year, but also for being the positive example for the other athletes in sports. He added that US sailing is very proud to honor these coaches as good coaching is the foundation for good sailing practices in the country as well as around the world.

Mike Ingham has been successful at multiple levels of sailing during his career. He has experience as a high-level competitor, sail maker and coach. Mike is the winner of 20 or more continental and U.S national titles.

According to Ingham, his most rewarding task was being the US Sailing’s Team’s Paralympic Sonar coach for the Rio 2016 Games. He added that the Para Sailing World Championship title and the silver medal at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games for American Sonar athletes, Rick Doerr, Clifton, N.J., Hugh Freund, South Freeport, Maine and Brad Kendell, Tampa, Fla are the result of years of careful training, extensive overseas travel and real hard work.